Hi! My Name Is …


"Leonard" The Duck

We’re back!

“Um. Wait a minute,” the millions …. AND THE MILLIONS … of readers in the Blogoverse™ must be wondering. “Who the heck is this guy and what the @#$%^ is he exactly returning from?”

Such fine questions. As virtual audiences go, you guys rank with the best of ’em!

Permit me to reintroduce myself, then. For nearly four years, I ran a friendly, neighborhood comic-book blog known as The Fortress of Fortitude.

Adopting the not-so-secret identity of The Fortress Keeper, I pretty much evolved from a middle-aged – yet still wide-eyed – fanboy who eagerly anticipated such sure-to-be classics as Civil War and Infinite Crisis to a middle-aged – and thoroughly disillusioned – crank who expressed weary disdain over the fact that the aforementioned works … well … pretty much sucked.

Like many Boomer Backwash Babies who remember THOSE DAYS WHEN EVERYTHING WAS BETTER (insert decade of your choice), I spent the next few years railing against Marvel and DC’s Powers That Be until overwhelming evidence – namely, the fact that plenty of fans bought and enjoyed Identity Crisis, Secret Invasion, et al – finally drove me into the waiting and loving arms of Golden Age comic books.

At this point, the Fortress joined the wild and wooly world of scan blogs and even gained a bump in traffic thanks to Journalista, The Comics Reporter, Dave Tackett and many more Internet pals ‘n’ gals than I could possibly name.

Dragging old, musty comics back to the light of day was great fun, but after more than a year I hit the proverbial brick wall. The number of outstanding scan blogs on the Net made it more and more difficult to find stories worth sharing … unless I dipped heavily into the not-very-public-domain catalogue of Marvel and DC.

Adding further injury to the aforementioned injury, the Fortress Keeper identity no longer seemed a viable vehicle for saying much beyond platitudes and generalities that meant less and less to me personally. What’s the sense of setting up a blog to express one’s self when you end up doing everything BUT that particular little detail?!?

I suppose it would have been sensible at that point to take a step away from the ol’ blog-stead for a few weeks or months until my battery was recharged. Unfortunately, that particular approach seemed a sure route to failure. For better or worse, I’m the type who needs to blow up the proverbial bridge to truly start anew.

So, just like the time Howard The Duck escaped the Marvel universe and renamed himself Leonard, the one-time Fortress Keeper has exiled himself to Blogger re-emerged on WordPress and resolves to write in the first-person from this day forward.

And what will I write about, pray tell? There’ll still be plenty of Golden Age scans because the practice is just too much fun to abandon, but I hope to by and large abandon the historical aspect of such posts to explain just why I find certain stories and art so enjoyable.

I also want to talk a bit more about the formative comics and creators of my Bronze-Age youth and hopefully shed a bit of light on how the ’70s iteration of the House of Ideas tore down and rebuilt super-heroes in a peculiarly time-appropriate image long before the likes of Alan Moore, Grant Morrison and even Robert Mayer attempted such feats.

After that, who knows? To quote my old pal Seneca, “Every New Beginning Comes From Some Other Beginning’s End.” The road is wide open … and maybe it’ll even end up in Buffalo!

8 thoughts on “Hi! My Name Is …

  1. Burning out: understandable, totally cool.Deciding to throw in the towel when you decide you have nothing further to say on the subject: Again, totally cool.Taking the plunge and making that "OK it's time to bring this blog to an end" post: the gracious thing to do, and, yet again, totally cool.Not leaving the archives of your concluded blog up for perusal by those who'd like to enjoy them again or who missed them the first time: not even a tiny bit cool at all.

  2. Honestly, it didn't occur to me that the Fortress' archives would be of interest. Obviously, I was wrong to project my own burn-out onto the rest of the Internet.My apologies … although I do plan to re-up some Golden Age stories from the old blog here, if that's any help.

  3. Honestly, I was afraid that I put that too harshly and as soon as I posted it I was afraid that I'd opened myself up to an "it's my blog, I'll do what I like, piss off" reply.I had just finished being frustrated by a bunch of dead links as it was (elsewhere, not to your stuff) and the whole "check out this super-interesting essay on the topic I've just whetted your appetite for" leading to a dead link because someone took stuff down seemingly for no reason thing is one of my top net pet peeves. (That and then/than mix-ups.)In any case, welcome back, sorry to be a crank, I enjoy your posts.

Leave a Reply

